Vertus
Charming 1-BR Apartment in the Marais
Back to Apartment Page

What our previous guests are saying about their stay:

"Good location, clean and safe"5    

Reviewed March 11, 2015

We stayed two weeks at the apartment. It was like being at home. Comfortable and with many amenities. The washer and dryer was helpful.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
“Very convenient - very comfortable!”5    

Reviewed May 11, 2014

We booked r. de Vertus for one week, of which four days were shared with old friends from UK. Fortunately, the flat was a proper 1-bedroom, with a v. large living/dining area containing a sofa bed for our guests, so privacy for all hands ensured. The bedroom was extremely quiet, being at rear of building; the guest quarters had some street noise, but this diminished well before one retired - I mean this IS Paris, right? An adequate kitchen, with a gas range, nice fridge&freezer, and plenty of on-demand hot water. V. nice bathroom, with separate WC - an excellent feature when there were four people in residence! There is central heating, but it rarely was used (mainly for heated towel rack occasionally). Only minor cavil re: kitchen was lack of cooking utensils, though adequate for preparing breakfasts and light lunches. Again, this IS Paris, and we ate out nightly, of course! Ah, must mention the three flights of curved staircases - n.b., there is no elevator, so renters must have stout hearts in order to schlepp luggage up to room! Biggest feature of apt. was its marvelous location: boatloads of shops, restaurants, cultural requisites minutes away in any direction, including the stunning PROMENADE DES PLANTEES, the precursor to NYC Hi-Line. Place des Vosges just round the corner, and many boulangeries, supermarches, fromageries, wine shops, etc., on the busy r. St-Antoine ca. 100m away. Would return for sure, can't beat the location/apt. quality/price relationship.
"Living like 'locals' in the hippest district in Paris."5    

Reviewed December 12, 2013

From the start of our research for apartments to rent, to our final days in Paris, the experience with Paris for Rent was exceptional. Pat Combrisson was our rental coordinator from the us, and she was wonderful to work with. Answered all our questions in a timely fashion with patience and grace. While in the apartment we had a few minor questions and amaury(our Paris contact) always returned our emails quickly and resolved any issues. We opted to have the car service pick us up / and return us to the airport - this was well worth the expense. Our initial introduction to the apartment was a bit rushed as we were let in early to drop off our bags before the cleaners arrived to do their work. I cannot stress enough to get instructions on all aspects of the apartment. The neighborhood is amazing. Right now the Marais is one of the "trendiest" places to stay (people we met while staying in Paris would always mention this to us!) So many wonderful places to eat (cafes, bistros, patisserie/boulangeries, on and on), little shops to explore, many near by super marches and very close to the metro station (Arts et Metiers.) We would often walk home after our day of exploring due to how centrally located this apartment is. The apartment is just as described and looks exactly like the pictures. We loved it! We are a mother/and adult daughter team and didn't mind sharing the one double bed. (It can be broken up into two twin beds.) Lots of storage space in the bedroom and in the bathroom. Also they did have an iron, ironing board and a hairdryer. Lots of hot water and modern shower/tub. The washer and dryer are small, but worked great. The kitchen was perfect for our needs, and we ate in as much as we ate out. This is an older building without a lot of curb appeal, but don't let that effect your choosing this apartment, it is so Parisian, and authentic inside. It is well maintained and clean. We cannot wait to stay again.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"If the walls could talk...!"5    

Reviewed October 19, 2013

This flat is in a very old building, (300 years old) and you cannot help but wonder who the early residents where and how they may have lived. If you are looking for level floors and open space this flat is not for you. Typical intimate and charming Parisian apartment on the 2nd floor with beamed ceilings, low lighting and peeling paint. Located in North Marias area you get the sense of the Parisian life as the neighborhood moves about their day, kids laughing and yelling from the schoolyard next door, businesses opening and closing shop, pedestrians making their way to and from work, with fresh baguettes under their arms. Walking distance to everything, markets, shopping, restaurants... Central to several Metro stations, the best and easiest way around Paris. Although the bed may be split into 2 twins, and seemed small compared to US standards, sleep came easy and long in this flat. If you want to live like a Parisian this flat is wonderful.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
"We felt that we were truly a part of Paris"5    

Reviewed June 02, 2013

This was a most marvelous and memorable vacation! Everything went so well thanks in great part to marvelous help each step of the way by Patrick, from Paris for Rent. The car pick-up, as arranged by Ivan, went well. Then, after we arrived in arts et Metiers, the young lady who greeted us did her job in a friendly, courteous, and efficient manner. After unpacking and settling in, we noticed a problem with the drainage in the bathroom sink and tub, and we called amaury, our Paris representative for the apartment. He was there very quickly with a plumber, and he stayed in the apartment while the plumber worked on the problem, which was totally fixed within a half hour or so. This apartment is, quite simply, awesome! We felt totally surrounded by history, but - at the same time - at our disposal were the most modern of conveniences. It's such an incredible blend of the ancient and the new. In short, the apartment played a prominent role in the totality of the experience. It was truly as much a part of our vacation as everything else was. This is just not possible when one stays in a hotel. We were more "a part of the city," if you will. Wishing one and all the very best.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Wonderful apartment, great location, fantastic to rent from"5    

Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a very lovely apartment in the northern part of the Marais near the Arts de Metiers Metro stop. It is walking distance to many of the key sights in Paris. There's a wonderful bakery nearby and a great open market, as well. We were thinking of staying closer to Places de Vosges, but we're glad we stayed further north (it's about a 20 minute walk to Places de Vosges). It's very crowded in the Places de Vosges area and we appreciated our quiet neighborhood apartment. It has a separate washer and dryer which is very unusual among apartment rentals in Paris. Patrick, the U.S. representative of Paris for Rent, was wonderful from our first inquiries until we arrived back in the U.S. We were met at the apartment building by a wonderful person who let us into the apartment, explained what we needed to know, gave us croissants and a baguette for our arrival (after a long plane flight, it was very welcomed), and then a 10 minute tour of our neighborhood. A fantastic experience. We're so glad we a) decided to rent an apartment rather than stay in a hotel, b) rented this particular, apt, and c) rented from this particular property manager.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
“Comfortable, Quiet & Central Location”5    

Reviewed January 05, 2013

Spent 7 days with my two twenty-something children in this charming apartment. Plenty of space for the 3 of us - nicely appointed. Has everything you need to enjoy the best of Paris - a very complete & nicely appointed kitchen, grocery stores & bakeries in walking distance plus very close to fabulous restaurants, shopping and 2 Metro stops. We had some flavorful Pho at the tiny little Vietnamese restaurant just 1/2 block away on Vertus (very delicious and under $10 USD). There is a handwritten notebook with great local restaurant recommends - make sure you check it out. They also have an extensive collection of tour books available for use. Even though this a corner apartment - it is super quiet. A nice place to end the day after touring Paris. There is a lift (large enough for only 1 person and luggage, but helpful). The outside of the apartment is rather boring - don't judge the apartment by this - and the stairs are realllly old and narrow....but once inside you will love it! The WiFi worked without any issues as well as the TV.....One more great thing - the washer and dryer were easy to use and cleaned our clothes well. Also - they DO have a hair dryer available in the bathroom closet. Plenty of storage room for luggage and clothes. The rental process was simple and professional plus Patrick is very responsive to all questions with an easy rental process.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
"Exactly as pictured."5    

Reviewed November 24, 2012

We recently traveled to Paris and had the good fortune to discover Paris for Rent. We were shown several properties and helped every step of the way to find one that perfectly met our needs. Marais District was a great and safe part of Paris and the apartment was lovely. Having a washer and dryer was so helpful. The beds both in the bedroom and the fold out couch were extremely comfortable right down to the soft sheets. Our connection in the States was so helpful before we left and our Paris connection met us at the apartment when we arrived and set up our taxi to the airport when we left. Kudos to Pat and amaury!

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Nice apartment !!"5    

Reviewed November 02, 2012

We just returned from Paris and stayed at Vertus. Paris 4 Rent was great to work with and lined everything up for us...airport transport, check-in and recommedations for tours. And, the security deposit was returned immmediately without having to follow-up. The apartment is well stocked, charming, and a place you want to return to at the end of a day of sightseeing. Everything is in walking distance. It is located in a commercial area, and close to the Pompedieu. The kitchen is well stocked, the bedroom very comfortable and the shower is excellent. There is a great butcher right down the street and an organic grocery store nearby. One night we stayed in and made incredible veal chops in a port wine sauce. The apartment is incredibley quiet when the windows are closed. And, there are some really nice restaurants within a close walk. A nice experience...in a wonderful City!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Way better than a hotel room"5    

Reviewed July 09, 2011

We chose Vertus based on TA recommendations and availability. There were several possible apartments and this met most of our criteria. We stayed at a hotel near the Eiffel Tower for four days and then a week at the Vertus apartment. The hotel was wonderful but was just a room. The Vertus apartment was very spacious and gave us some elbow room to wander around in. We loved being able to make our own breakfast and relax in the mornings. It seemed more like we were using the apartment of a friend rather than a commercial rental. It had lots of extra stuff like appliance adapters, travel books and maps on the bookshelf, wireless internet, aluminum foil in the kitchen, etc. The neighboorhood was on a commercial street that was noisy during the day, but quiet at night. The huge windows provided great cross ventilation even when the weather was hot. The check-in greeting worked well, Laura was very pleasant, showed us everything, and had croissants and a baguette on the kitchen table for us. One "fun" thing was trying to use the washer/dryer with French directions. My translator app on my phone did not help! However, we did figure it out! Definitely would use Paris for Rent again.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
"Great, comfortable location in the heart of the Marais"5    

Reviewed June 27, 2010

Paris4Rent was easy to deal with, set up everything, and was local. I've rented Paris apartments with other services before, but that was made difficult this year as they want payment in cashier's check and the volcano eruption made delivery guarantees impossible (for some reason the outfit I have dealt with previously has stopped accepting credit cards as payment). Paris4Rent, being in the states, was very easy to deal with. The apartment was top notch, the location was great. For a family an apartment rental is very convenient, and can save time - eat in when you want, eat out when you want. Being able to serve your kids breakfast or eat in after a long day of sightseeing can be quite an advantage.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Experienced Paris almost like a local..."5    

Reviewed March 02, 2010

The location of the apartment was really ideal for getting about the main centre of Paris, especially if you like walking which is what we decided to do 90% of the time. It really is the best way to see Paris. The Pompidou is within a few mins walk and so are the great cafes and shopping that the Marais has to offer. The apartment itself was well stocked and really clean when we arrived. The floorplan itself was workable even for 4 Adults and the decor more charming than the photos gave it credit for. However if you are a light sleeper I'm not sure I would recommend it as there is a bit of pedestrian traffic in the street and there's a school a few doors down. But we loved it as it added to the Paris experience. If you want silence go to a deserted island. Renting the apartment was a well-organised and smooth experience. I dont think we'll ever stay in a hotel again when we return to Paris.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Fantastic time in Paris"5    

Reviewed October 01, 2009

Cute, clean, and comfortable apartment - conveniently located and a real "local" feel. Be sure and read the journal of previous guests of local restaurants and shops. The neighborhood is a working neighborhood of designer shops but you feel like a real Parisian after a week here.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Vertus was just right"5    

Reviewed September 09, 2009

We had no problems getting into the apartment; Frederic met us there, explained how everything worked, and offered assistance if we needed anything further. The location was exactly right for the four of us. The neighborhood is just close enough to the action for easy walking, and just far enough to be quiet at night. All the creative shops and restaurants of the Marais are quite near (mmmm...) , and several Metro stops are accessible. There is a swell little neighborhood park very close by, so it's a good spot for kids. Don't forget your ping pong paddles! The photos of the apartment give an accurate vibe -- it's small, modest, comfortable, and stylish enough to feel solidly Parisian. The bathtub is great. The kitchen has everything you need, and there is an excellent collection of travel books on the various Paris foodie topics. The only drawback: there is an elementary school up the street, and the playground gets noisy before the morning bell if the bedroom window is open. We would definitely stay there again; it's a lovely spot at a good price in a great location.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Little Paris