St Louis Roof 3
Luxury 1-BR Apartment with Balcony
Back to Apartment Page

What our previous guests are saying about their stay:

A Heavenly Month in Paris5    

Reviewed October 20, 2016

We recently returned from a month in Apris staying at St. Louis Roof rented thru Paris for Rent. This is the 2nd time we've used Paris for Rent and I wouldn't use anyone else. The apartment was fantastic. Even though I had seen the photos I think my jaw dropped when we walked in the door, it was so beautiful. We were looking for a place that we could just 'hang out' comfortably since we were for an extended stay. We were lucky to have great weather so the 3 sets of doors to the balcony were open almost the whole time. The location could not have been better. You are literally in the heart of Paris. There are numerous wonderful restaurants on the island but if you wanted to stay in with a baguette, cheese and wine as we did on several occasions the kitchen is beautiful and fully stocked with anything you might need. I am already looking forward to our next visit and I think the timing of of it will be based on when we can stay at St. Louis Roof. It's that good.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perfect Paris5    

Reviewed May 17, 2016

This was my first rental with Paris For Rent, and won't be the last. Samantha, in Paris; and Patrick, in California went above and beyond to solve an unexpected problem at Marais Village when I arrived. We had carefully selected an apartment suited to my mobility challenges -- no stairs, free-standing shower. All was in order, but when I tried to turn the key in the door lock, my hand wasn't strong enough. A disappointment, a huge worry, but not a show-stopper, thanks to Samantha's resourcefulness. Admittedly, good luck played a part in all this (a suitable apartment was available) but Samantha worked hard to settle me into St Louis Roof and in my jet-lagged state, I was more than grateful. I couldn't have had a better place to live for two weeks in Paris. I cannot navigate stairs -- there is an elevator. A daily "birdbath" was perfectly ok because climbing into the bathtub was impossible. I loved the balcony and the view of buildings and roofs. I couldn't stop taking photos at all times of day and in all kinds of weather. Despite overlooking the busy intersection of Rue des Deux Ponts and Rue Saint-Louis-en-l'Île, it was quiet at night. The kitchen had everything I needed except a cutting board. I remedied that with a stop at Monoprix. I was located at walking distance from many of the things I wanted to see and do, but what I liked most was just living there, buying a fresh croissant at the bakery for breakfast, fresh produce from the grocer, and of course, wine from Nicolas. Everything I needed was at hand. The southbound 67 bus is at the door. Bertillon ice cream is around the corner, perhaps a mixed blessing. If you read every historical marker you see, you'll love Île Saint-Louis. The 17th century doesn't seem that long ago when you walk along the quais with their hôtels particuliers and learn something of the people who built and lived in them. It would be fair to mention that the main street of the island can be crowded with tourists, especially on fine weekends. When the ice cream queues are a block long, go sightseeing somewhere else, or just take a walk along the quais, which will be deserted. Enjoy quiet mornings on the island, when the street cleaners are going about their work and residents are doing their morning errands. Feel at home on your island.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Apartment and Location5    

Reviewed February 05, 2016

We loved the apartment and location. The owner provided detailed information on the apartment, appliances, etc. It was the second time we have rented an apartment listed by Paris for Rent and they again did an outstanding job. We used their recommended car service from the Gare Lyon and that worked out great. The only negative we found was that the bed was a little uncomfortable- a new mattress wouldn't be a bad idea.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
“We love Paris in the springtime”5    

Reviewed June 29, 2015

May 2015 was our second stay in Saint-Louis Roof 3 ... and the apartment was even better than it was in October 2011. The only bad news ... Air France misplaced one of our suitcase for 4 days ... but thanks to the assistance of Paris For Rent's Eleanor and Suzanne in Paris and Emeline in Sausalito, we celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary in fine fashion. The apartment is perfect in every way: absolutely clean, well-furnished, well-maintained and well-equipped ... and it has attractive views in four directions within the "village" called Île Saint-Louis. We took many photographs from the balcony [ http://www.jeaer1939.net/paris2puako/paree_02/index.html ]. The apartment's central location makes it convenient to explore the Left and Right Banks, the Marais and the Bastille/Saint-Martin Canal neighborhoods. Even Montmartre and Montparnasse are comfortable walks (and we are in our mid-seventies). Turn right at the corner of rue Saint-Louis-en-l'Île and you have a minute's walk to the excellent boulangerie, fromagerie and boucher/charcuterie plus "our local" church, Eglise Saint-Louis en l'Île. Opposite Eva BazArt, the store on the corner, (which my wife frequented frequently) is a reliable ATM. Across from the ATM is a épicier with great fruit and vegetables ... and toward Île de la Cité is a Nicholas wine store and a "supermarché". Across from the entrance to the apartment building is a small but well-stocked grocery store. At 7, rue des Deux Ponts is l'Auberge des Deux Ponts, an honest restaurant serving generous portions of well-cooked home-style food. Within easy walking distance are three non-tourist restaurants in the 4ème arrondissement: Chez Julian, Cafe Louis Philippe and le Petit Célestin. If we were to visit Paris again (and we are of an age where we do not buy young Gigondas for the cellar), we most certainly would rent Saint-Louis Roof 3 from Paris For Rents. I think they even influenced the weather since rain only slightly inconvenienced us one day. Another word about Paris for Rent ... the chauffeur service to/from Charles De Gaulle and the stocking of the refrigerator are excellent options.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
“Parisian gem....”5    

Reviewed August 05, 2014

We had a wonderful week in Paris staying at the Ile St Louis Roof 3. We booked through Paris for Rent who were first class from start to finish. Our greeter, Constance gave us lots of invaluable tips that made our stay truly memorable. We found the apartment to be just as described and the photos represent exactly what you are getting. The location is wonderful, just minutes walk to the metro and the Ile St. Louis itself is so charming. The apartment is clean, spacious, very secure and private and for me, the best part without doubt is the balcony - the view and ambiance is just wonderful. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed breakfasts most mornings outside. My teenage daughter appreciated the reliable wifi connection! I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone - loved Ile St. Louis and would not hesitate to book this apartment again should we return to Paris in the near future.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
“Paris Perfection”5    

Reviewed July 20, 2014

My sister and I rented St. Louis Roof 3 from Paris for Rent and were absolutely delighted by the apartment. Perfectly located on Ile St Louis, we had easy access to everything while being in the heart of a little village with it grocer, fruit vendor, cheese shops, boulangeries and boutiques. The apartment was exactly as described and pictured, it was pristine and equipped with everything one needs for a lovely stay. The terrace was one of the best features. We had our pain chocolate looking over the streetscape every morning, and our wine and cheese out there relaxing after an amazing day of touring the museums, the churches, the gardens and the boutiques of Paris. We had one of the best vacations ever and it was largely due to the great accommodations. I can't wait to go back and stay there again - and I wouldn't consider working with any other company but Paris for Rent. The stateside and Pars teams are incredibly professional, pleasant and service oriented. Bravo to them, the property, Paris and our perfect trip.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
“Perfect Parisian Apartment”5    

Reviewed June 02, 2014

We stayed at the apartment for a week in May 2014 and could not have had a better time. We are already talking about our next trip to Paris. There are so many positive things to say. First, the location. Can't imagine a better, more convenient place to stay. Right in the middle of Paris and a short walk to everything -- Notre Dame, the Louvre, the Left Bank, Marias, all the major museums, etc. Also right near bus and metro stops. And Ile St. Louis is a lovely little island -- very quiet place with great restaurants, cheese shops, bakeries, and the best ice cream in Paris. Very relaxing feel. Located right at the intersection of the two "major" roads in the island - but still quiet and, with the windows closed, there is absolutely no street noise. Second, the apartment. We were so glad we picked a place with a balcony. It is even better than it sounds -- we spent a lot of time just sitting on the balcony and watching Paris stroll by. Beautiful views. And the apartment is quite spacious and comfortable. Good WiFi. Kitchen was easy for cooking simple meals. Great to have a washer/dryer. Beautifully furnished. Finally, Paris for Rent. They were terrific -- very easy to work with. And our greeter in Paris was very helpful. We were very glad we decided to rent an apartment instead of getting a hotel. Made a real difference. Strongly recommend this apartment and Paris for Rent.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
"Comfortable spot in a great location"5    

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our 7th stay in this great flat. Comfortable, everything you need, a central location, balconies to watch Parisian life go by, a great building, a terrific Island, more than ever we appreciated having this cozy spot for cocktail-hour downtime between adventures. A great spot. Can't wait to go back.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"A Perfect apartment in a Perfect Location"5    

Reviewed December 04, 2013

I'm just back from my fourth stay at Paris for Rent's Ile St Louis Roof 3 apartment. And I'm already trying to figure out when I can stay again in 2014. So it's pretty obvious I'm totally sold on this apartment. Why? Lots and lots of reasons. The apartment itself is super well furnished ... totally comfortable. The service from Paris for Rent's greeters has been consistently super as has been the service I've received while booking the apartment. But probably the thing I like about the apartment first and foremost is it's view and location. Boy, what an great view of the cross roads on Ile St Louis and on the roofs of other buildings. And boy what a fantastic neighborhood filled with great restaurants and three excellent boulangeries and a totally totally amazing fromagerie ... all within a 3 minute walk. You're also super well situated in Paris overall ... depending on the direction you head, you're 5-10 minutes from Notre Dame, the Marais, the Left Bank, Rue Mouffetard, and on and on it goes. The Pont Marie metro station is 3 minutes on foot. So give Paris for Rent and their Ile St Louis Roof 3 apartment a try. You will have the time of your life.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Still as wonderful as the first time we stayed here!"5    

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This beautifully appointed and equipped apartment has many positives going for it not the least of which is location, location and . . . location! Right in the middle of Paris surrounded by the Seine--easy walking to many of the most visited sights in Paris and only about two blocks from a Metro stop. Depending upon the time of year little can beat having morning coffee or a late afternoon glass of wine on the balcony six stories above people hurrying to or from work. But be careful not to spill on the folks queuing for a irresistible Berthillon ice cream immediately below you. You will always know that you have gotten away from it all as you look out upon iconic banks of chimneys with a few errant old TV antennas hosting ubiquitous French pigeons. This apartment is a delightful place for two to feel like "Parisians" while enjoying the many splendors of The City of Light. This was our second stay in "Roof 3," we hope that it will not be our last. Three possible very minor negatives depending upon your requirements: 1. The combination washer/dryer is not for the faint of heart or those in a hurry. The washing component is adequate but slow while the dryer is simply slow and not particularly efficient. As suggested we took our drying to a Laundromat (laverie) about a block away. 2. The lighting in all parts of the apartment is tasteful but somewhat subdued (except in kitchen and bathroom). Great for romance but perhaps a bit dark without candles especially in the winter. The dining area could benefit from a well designed complementing torchiere floor lamp. 3. A climb into and out of the combination bath/shower might be a bit challenging for some "mature" people with increasing hints of arthritis in their hips (like us). It is a big step up and down and over . . . but there is a good support bar to add leverage while making the ascent and descent. . It wasn't a major problem for us but it was responsible for an audible grumble or two. Au revoir . . .

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Fantastic two weeks on Ile St. Louis ~"5    

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Perfect location in the heart of Paris. Walking distance to everything including several metro stops. Samantha, our greeter, gave us the most thorough and patient instructions for everything in the apartment, and we really felt at home. All the appliances were first-rate, and everything was spotlessly clean. The kitchen is ideally equipped for cooking and serving meals of all types. And for dessert...I am embarrassed to admit that we ate Berthillon ice cream every day! Every day. The little balcony allowed us to have coffee in the morning or drinks outdoors in the evening, and hear the church bells, or the passing street musicians. Just magical. This is the perfect aerie for a couple to truly live as Parisians, and we are planning to return. We felt lucky to be there.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Perfect location, size and comfort"5    

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Ile St Louis Roof 3. The agency that set us up was wonderful, reassuring and always accessible. The greeter was full of information and available to us throughout our visit. I would love to return to this apartment for another trip to Paris, France.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"We lived in Paris for 10 days and wanted to stay-how wonderful!"5    

Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our second apartment with Paris for Rent. We were so pleased with both experiences. Thank you Patrick for your assistance with every detail. Our greeter Samantha was very thorough and offered many helpful suggestions. We loved our apartment. We appreciated the opportunity to enjoy the incredible views and magnificent location. The apartment was fantastic. Loved, loved, loved it!

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Wonderful apartment"5    

Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my first time in Paris and I had a perfect trip. The apartment was very clean and comfortable. Nicely decorated. Great kitchen and appliances. Wifi. It contained everything we needed for our stay in Paris. Great location. Easy to get around to all the sites. The balcony and view are worth staying here alone. I can't imagine staying in a better apartment in Paris. Fell in love the second we walked through the door. I would definitely recommend staying here and I hope to return one day. The Paris For Rent staff was the best. Everyone I had the pleasure to talk to was very friendly and helpful from start to finish. They really made this experience easy.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Sooo Good!!"5    

Reviewed February 02, 2013

Getting there: We had 'Paris for Rent' arrange our transport from the airport. 'Gill' was at the airport to meet us and took us straight to the Island. I think we got there at about 7.30am. Paula met us at about 8.30 which meant we enjoyed coffee and a croissant at the café diagonally across from the apartment. Service: Paula was great, took us through everything we needed to know regarding the apartment and more. We did have a small problem with the TV, but only because I didn't follow Paula's instruction. Frederick fixed it up whilst we were out the following day, so that was great. The apartment: We can't fault anything with the apartment, except maybe for the lack of non-news English TV channels, but who watches TV when you're in Paris? The apartment has everything you need or more, including a universal powerboard handy for your various devices plus Wifi. The Bed, Linen, Towels all first class. There is a washing machine/dryer, iron and ironing board, and books galore! An initial supply of toiletries was provided, as if in a hotel. And it does look exactly like the photos on the web. Street noise is not an issue. The Location: You are right in the centre of St Louis. There are 2 grocers on the Island, 3 bakers, 2 butchers, a fruit n veg shop, Berthillion and numerous restaurants. A Bank & ATM across the road and a Post Office a few doors up. For a supermarket, Monoprix is about a five minutes walk north across the bridge. Pont Marie metro station is a very short walk across the bridge, Notre Dame, St Chappelle, the Concierge is across another bridge at the end of the island, St Germain, Marias, its all there. An expresso at the Tabac costs 1 euro 20. And at the end, Gill was ready for us when we left, waiting to pick us up at the front door to go to the airport. I was a bit nervous booking a Paris apartment through a business in San Francisco, the contact in Maui, and a driver in Paris. But it worked and it was Perfect!

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
“This is the first time that we have ever rented an apartment that was actually better than it appeared in pictures!”5    

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our stay was indeed WONDERFUL! The owner is applauded for how well this apartment is appointed, both in terms of decor and furniture and with many practical touches that contributed to our cooking and dining enjoyment as well as providing total comfort and relaxation. Frankly, we don't know which was more enoyable, coffee and a croissant on the balcony each morning or a glass of wine in the same place on many evenings. The location is superb for enjoying central Paris. The only thing that could be improved would be to move the Eiffel Tower, The River Sein and Notre Dame into clear view!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
"Everything you want a pied-a-terre in Paris to be"5    

Reviewed October 06, 2011

We have traveled to Paris many times and were truly delighted with this apartment. It met our expectations in every way--chic, cozy and convenient. The apartment is very well appointed and lovingly decorated. It is located on a bustling intersection in charming Ile St. Louis but was never noisy at night with the windows closed. It is very well situated in the center of Paris with easy walking access to many key destinations. The staff both in California and in Paris were very knowledgeable, professional and helpful. Everything about our experience was as promised by the team at Paris for Rent.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Staying in this apartment far exceeded my expectations!"5    

Reviewed June 16, 2010

It was a pleasure working with Paris for Rent, from the rental negotiations to the actual check in, my questions were answered promptly and thoroughly. Although we've been to Paris before in recent years, this was the first time we rented an apartment and now I wouldn't do it any other way. Everything in the apartment was lovely. It was impeccably clean and the kitchen appliances were more up to date than mine at home! The location was absolutely perfect and allowed us to easily get to any other part of Paris, but we loved exploring the Marais and the outer arroundissements. Because the apartment sits on a busy corner, it was sometimes a little noisy at night, but it was cool enough to keep our bedroom window closed, so we weren't really disturbed. We loved having a little balcony and bistro table outside and we sat there in the morning with our coffee and in the evening with our wine. The owners had left a notebook full of good restaurant suggestions, places that weren't in the usual guidebooks. This apartment had everything we needed, in fact more than we needed since I didn't do much cooking. I would come back to the St Louis Roof 3 apartment in a minute!

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Comfortable and Perfectly Located"5    

Reviewed March 21, 2010

Our fourth stay in this charming apartment in the center of Ile St. Louis. Well appointed, spacious (for Paris)and extremely comfortable apartment. Perfect location for exploring all Paris has to offer. Latin Quarter, Notre Dame, Marais, Bastille, and Hotel de Ville all at the other side of one of the five bridges connecting this island. Quiet and beautiful walks along the island's quays. Terrific bakeries, groceries, cheese shop and butchers all right on the island and even a few decent restaurants if one is careful. Plan to go back again next year... and the next year.... and....

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Great apartment in the perfect location!"5    

Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed for a week in this wonderful apartment, and loved every minute of it. The roomy one-bedroom unit is on the fifth floor at the corner of the building with a wrap around balcony wide enough for a small table & two chairs. Being able to open the french doors to the outdoor space was really nice and visually increased the spaciousness of the rooms. The kitchen and the view were why I rented this unit and each exceeded expectations. So many of the units on other sites looked like they'd get very little natural light and they had dismal kitchens with just a hot plate & a microwave. This unit, with its full kitchen allowed me to visit the marche's and actually cook meals, instead of just heating something up. And the view was wonderful. Being high up on the corner of the Rue du Deux Ponts and the main street that runs lengthwise on Isle St. Louis afforded views from the left bank to the right bank and encompassed the whole of the island. Sitting out on the balcony with a glass of wine and just watching the world go by was wonderful! We were worried that it would be noisy being on the corner of a fairly busy intersection, but it wasn't. Once we closed the windows, all outside sound stopped--very good sound insulation. The furniture in the unit was lovely and very homey. The queen sized bed with night tables and lamps on each side was also a plus for me, since my husband and I both read in bed. Many of the Paris vacation rental apartments are furnished as cheaply as possible (think IKEA), but that is not the case with this unit. The owner really put a lot of thought (and money!) into furnishing the place nicely. Staying on the Isle St. Louis was great--you just can't get more central than that. And the metro is just across the river--one short block away. All in all, it was the perfect apartment in the perfect location. The only downside was that we had to come home! I would definitely stay here again.
BR> This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"Heart of Paris!"5    

Reviewed September 24, 2009

Thanks to the owner of St. Louis Roof 3 for changing his own plans so my wife and I could celebrate our 25th anniversary in his comfortable and attractive Apartment. It was as pictured, in a great neighborhood, (quick walk to Latin Quarter, Marais, and St. Germain) and with a comfortable bed (the one worry I had). And thanks to Paris For Rent for recommending "My Genie". Very helpful. Great Experience!

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
"The perfect retreat!"5    

Reviewed September 17, 2009

We loved our first visit to Paris, and we loved our apartment location on Ile St. Louis--so convenient to Notre Dame and St. Germaine and the Metro, and of course, the Seine! Being our first visit, we packed our days with sightseeing and were so happy to come home each evening, exhausted, to such a lovely and comfortable home away from home. We highly recommend it!

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Little Paris